KSU calls for more Clarity over Next Year’s Guidelines

Posted On September 8, 2021

Yesterday KSU released a statement calling upon the Health Authorities and Ministry of Education to publish more clear and comprehensive COVID-19 regulations regarding the University of Malta. 

During yesterday’s Press Conference by the Education Minister Justyne Caruana, the new mitigations for schools were released however according to KSU these are inadequate and unrealistic for the university to follow, due to the large cohorts that some courses have.

KSU also highlighted the fact that whilst online learning has been sufficient throughout the pandemic, its impact has also been felt negatively by the students. KSU believes that now that the majority of the Maltese population has been vaccinated, online learning should start its transition to in-person teaching. 

Whilst KSU acknowledged the importance of booster vaccines to combat the pandemic, it would like further clarification on how it will affect life on campus. At the moment the University serves as a vaccine centre as well, occupying many lecture rooms and reducing parking spaces available for students. KSU asks the Health Authorities how this can be compensated for should the University remain the main vaccination hub. KSU also called for a more detailed plan about Graduation Ceremonies.

This statement was This statement was unanimously adopted by the Commission and is endorsed by:

Student Organisations:

ELSA Malta, DESA – Department of English Students Association, ESO – European Studies Organisation, GħSL – Malta Law Students’ Society, GUG, ICTSA – ICT Students’ Association, Junior Chamber of Advocates, JEF Malta, MADS – Malta Association of Dental Students, MAKE – Malta Association for Knowledge and Education, MBSA – Medical Biochemistry Students’ Association UOM, MHSA – Malta Health Students’ Association, MIRSA – Malta International Relations Students Association, MKSA – Media & Knowledge Sciences Association, MMSA – Malta Medical Students’ Association, Malta University Historical Society, SDM – Studenti Demokristjani Maltin, TDM 2000 Malta, Tourism Students Association (TSA), UESA – University Engineering Students’ Association, University of Malta Futsal and USPA – University Students of Performing Arts Association.

Student Representatives:

  • Alexandra Gaglione – Faculty of Laws
  • Andrea Buhagiar – School of Performing Arts
  • Anne Camilleri – Faculty of Dental Surgery
  • Davinia Agius – Faculty of Media and Knowledge Sciences
  • Gloria Montebello – Faculty of Medicine & Surgery
  • Jake Alex Gauci – Faculty of Medicine & Surgery
  • Jeremy Farrugia – Faculty of Engineering
  • Kylie Fenech – Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Michaela Maria Chircop – Institute for Tourism, Travel and Culture
  • Michaela Pace – Institute for European Studies
  • Nicole Galea – Faculty of Arts
  • Raoul Briffa – Faculty for Social Wellbeing
  • Rebecca Azzopardi –  Institute for European Studies
  • Sarah Xuereb – Faculty of Laws
  • Thomas Galea – Faculty of Engineering and Senate SR
  • Thomas Taliana – Faculty for the Built Environment
  • Timon Nurnberger – Faculty of Arts

The full statement can be found here.

Written by Daniela Chatlani


Related Posts

MUHS elects New Executive for 2021/2022

MUHS elects New Executive for 2021/2022

MUHS held their Annual General Meeting last Wednesday whereby the new Executive Board for the term 2021/2022 was elected. The new Executive consists of: President: Nico MuscatVice-President: Dr Emanuel ButtigiegSecretary General: Rakele FiottAssistant Secretary...

Your EU Career Explained

Your EU Career Explained

As graduation ceremonies commence, students in their final year may be wondering what possible opportunities await them. An interesting and dynamic opportunity for students is potential employment with an EU institution or an EU agency. The European Personal Selection...

Meet The Third Eye’s New Exec!

Meet The Third Eye’s New Exec!

Last night The Third Eye held their Annual General Meeting where the new Executive Board for 2021/2022 was elected. The members of the new Executive Board are: President: Waleed Alhweeshel Secretary General: Julia Falzon  Content Manager: Martina Farrugia  Media...